NASA releases video of 3 hurricanes from space


NASA releases video of 3 hurricanes from space

That puts Lester's eye about 1,435 miles (2,305 km) east of Hilo, Hawaii, and east of Category 4 Hurricane Madeline.

Though Lester is moving west across the Pacific towards Hawaii, it is expected to weaken to a tropical storm when it crosses the island.

At 7:20 a.m. EDT (1120 UTC) Infrared data from the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer aboard NASA's Aqua satellite showed cloud tops northeast of the center as cold as minus 70 degrees Fahrenheit (minus 56.6 degrees Celsius).

The two storms in the Pacific are more worrying for earth-dwellers.

This graphic shows the projected path and intensity of Hurricane Lester as of 11 a.m.

On Aug. 31 at 6:50 p.m. EDT (22:50 UTC) the VIIRS instrument aboard NASA-NOAA's Suomi NPP satellite saw Hurricane Lester moving into the Central Pacific Ocean. The center of Hurricane Lester was located near18.2 degrees north latitude and 133.2 degrees west longitude.

The NHC said that Lester is moving toward the west near 14 miles per hour (22 kph), and this general motion is expected to continue for the next couple of days. Lester is hitting 130 miles per hour (210 kph), according to the National Hurricane Center, and Madeline is reaching 90 miles per hour (150 kph). Tropical storm Hermine has already caused flooding in parts of Florida and resulted in storm warnings and watches across the state, according to the Weather Channel. The estimated minimum central pressure is 971 millibars.

Madeline is expected to dump five to 10 inches (13 to 25 centimeters) of rain on Hawaii, with some areas receiving up to 15 inches. Surf will peak this weekend, becoming very large and damaging along east facing shores. Some weakening is forecast during the next 48 hours.