Nanded Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017: Counting of votes underway

Nanded Municipal Corporation Election Results 2017: Counting of votes underway

The election was held on Wednesday and saw an aggressive campaign by both the BJP and the Shiv Sena.

The Congress has taken a massive lead in the Nanded-Waghala municipal corporation elections while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Bhandup bypoll for BMC and Pune.

Counting of votes in this ward will be done twice - through EVMs as well as VVPAT machines, the election commission officials said.

In the run up to the polls, Chief Minister Fadnavis had accused the Shiv Sena of lobbying with the Congress to defeat the BJP.

A total of 578 candidates belonging to the ruling Congress, Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), Shiv Sena, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) were in the fray. Himali Kamble of the BJP defeated Nationalist Congress Party's Dhananjay Gaikwad.

Nanded (Maharashtra), Oct 12 (IANS) The Congress on Thursday bagged the prestigious Nanded-Waghala City Municipal Corporation (NWCMC), bagging a staggering 67 of the 73 seats in the 81-seat body and crushing the opposition.

The 81-member civic body is now controlled by the Congress. For Bhandup by-poll, Shiv Sena fielded Minakshi Patil, wife of Bhandup MLA Ashok Patil, while the BJP nominated Jagruti Patil, who is a daughter-in-law of deceased Pramila Patil as its candidate.

Congress activists erupted in noisy celebrations in Nanded, Mumbai and other parts of Maharashtra.

Nanded is the home town of former Maharashtra Chief Minister and State Congress President Ashok Chavan.

Of the results declared so far, BJP has won three, while Shiv Sena is placed a distant third, winning a solitary seat. The voter turnout for the civic body polls stood at 60 per cent. Sharad Pawar's NCP won 10 seats, AIMIM won 11, one seat was won by an independent candidate and two more by other parties.