Iyer, Siraj named in India squad for New Zealand T20Is

Iyer, Siraj named in India squad for New Zealand T20Is

Prasad also cleared that the selectors are only looking at the left-arm fast bowler till the New Zealand series.

It is expected that Kohli will be rested for the final Test and the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka, which is slated in December as he would be required fresh and re-energised before the tough tour of South Africa.

Besides featuring for Mumbai on a regular basis, Iyer had managed to grab the eyeballs during the Indian Premier League in 2015 when Delhi Daredevils bought him for a whopping Rs. 2.6 crore. Surprisingly, Mumbai's Shreyas Iyer and Hyderabad's Mohammed Siraj made into the squad. The 38-year-old Delhi bowler has been picked for only that game scheduled in his home ground Feroz Shah Kotla.

"With Siraj, he is doing well and has been duly rewarded", said Prasad. However, whether Nehra will be included in the playing XI completely depends on the team management. That said, it is an opportunity he will want to make the most of given we are on the cusp the 2019 World Cup, and selectors will be following the player's every performance to see if they can fill what has been seriously lacking in India's middle-order.

But what seems to have worked in his favour is his recent stint for the India A side where he scored 108, 82, 90 and 37 in the four games for India A against New Zealand A. His 90 in the third game was vital as it helped the hosts tie the game against the Kiwis. He said, "We can't say that [if he will surely play in the Delhi T20I], whether he is going to play or not, it is clearly the team management and the selector on call, whoever it is". There is no assurance from our side that he's going to play or not. Kohli leads a 16-man squad that includes two spinners in Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal, five pacers in Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya and Siraj, and batsmen in Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Manish Pandey and Siraj, apart from allrounder Pandya.