Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo wins NL Manager of Year

Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo wins NL Manager of Year

"If you win rookie of the year, the Cy Young or the MVP, it's about the player".

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo won National League Manager of the Year honors Tuesday.

Francona, who won the award past year, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row.

Lovullo guided Arizona to a 93-69 record and reached the playoffs in 2017 - the team's first postseason berth since 2011. As well, the Diamondbacks this season claimed a spot in the NL Wild Card Game, which they won over Black's Rockies.

Molitor's victory was closer than that of the National League, as he received 18 first-place votes in comparison to the 11 that Cleveland Indianas skipper Terry Francona received. Arizona finished second in the wildly competitive NL West division at 93-69, behind only eventual pennant-winner Los Angeles.

Colorado Rockies manager Bud Black finished third with 43 points.

Among the other managers who received first-place votes was Dusty Baker of the Washington Nationals, who received one and finished fifth in the voting.

Molitor earned 18 of 30 first-place votes. The Cleveland Indians' Terry Francona, the 2016 victor, was the runner-up with 11 first-place votes. Houston Astros manager A.J. Hinch was the only other AL manager to receive a first-place vote. Chicago Cubs skipper Joe Maddon finished in sixth.

Molitor, 61, already put his name in the record books this year because his Twins team was the first to ever go from a 100-loss season to the playoffs the next season.

This post will be updated. Turns out it was enough to give Molitor this award too.