Baker Mayfield claims Davey O'Brien Award

Baker Mayfield claims Davey O'Brien Award

Mayfield is the third Sooner to win the Maxwell Award, joining Jason White (2004) and Tommy McDonald (1956), and the fifth Sooner to be named Walter Camp Player of the Year along with Josh Heupel (2000), Billy Sims (1978), Steve Owens (1969) and Jerry Tubbs (1956). Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, the other finalist and last year's Heisman Trophy victor, was third in the award announced Thursday.

Earlier in the day, Mayfield was selected as the Walter Camp Player of the Year by the Walter Camp Football Foundation. The Sooners' signal-caller set a national record for passing efficiency and posted 41 touchdowns against just five interceptions.

The Bednarik Award, which is given to the best defensive player in college football, was won by Alabama defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick. Love (83 points) and Jackson (39 points) each received two first-place votes and Penn State running Saquon Barkley received a first-place vote and came in fourth. In total Big 12 players took home four major awards on the night.

Below is the list of award winners announced during Thursday's ceremony. I have to give a lot of the credit to my teammates and coaches, they are the reason that I am in position to win this award and I could not have done it without them. To receive this award is an honor, and it's something just a few years ago I never thought would happen. "I am so appreciative of Mr. Hornung and the Louisville Sports Commission for selecting me for this very special honor".

Oklahoma football: Baker Mayfield wins Maxwell Award
Baker Mayfield claims Davey O'Brien Award

Saturday is the big day for Oklahoma football's Baker Mayfield, but Thursday night wasn't all that bad either.

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was named the 2017 Davey O'Brien Award victor Thursday night during ESPN's college football awards show.

He has 129 career touchdown passes and 14,320 yards.