Kendrick Lamar wins Pulitzer prize as Weinstein reporting also honoured

Kendrick Lamar wins Pulitzer prize as Weinstein reporting also honoured

The second song, "DNA", sees another Fox News audio sampling: "Hip-hop has done more damage to young African Americans than racism in recent years". "Most importantly, the work cited brought illumination to complex and troubling issues, helped to right wrongs, humanized some of the greatest challenges faced by our nation and served as a catalyst for vital dialogue".

Since the Times and New Yorker articles last October, more than 100 women have publicly accused the producer of misconduct ranging from sexual harassment to rape, sparking the #MeToo movement that has gone global.

The stories led to Weinstein's ouster from the studio he co-founded, and he now faces criminal investigations in NY and Los Angeles. The awards were given out Monday at an announcement at New York's Columbia University. There are 14 categories for reporting, photography, criticism and commentary. The report included interviews with thirteen women who said Weinstein sexually harassed or assaulted them between the nineteen-nineties and 2015.

The Press Democrat of Santa Rosa, California, received the breaking news reporting award for coverage of the wildfires that swept through California wine country last fall, killing 44 people and destroying thousands of homes.

While the organization did not immediately provide a brief explanation for the recording winning the prestigious prize, Kendrick Lamar's album features lyrics from the California crooner attacking President Donald Trump, Fox News, and police brutality.

The Washington Post won the Pulitzer in the investigative category for relentless reporting that influenced the outcome of the 2017 Senate race in Alabama, revealing Republican candidate Roy Moore's alleged past sexual harassment of teenage girls.

Today's the day! The 2018 Pulitzer Prize Winners and Nominated Finalists will be announced later today- April 10 at 3pm by Pulitzer Prize Administrator Dana Canedy. This is the 102nd year of the contest, established by newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer.