EC allots 'two leaves' symbol to ruling Palaniswami-Pannerselvam faction

EC allots 'two leaves' symbol to ruling Palaniswami-Pannerselvam faction

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palanisamy on Thursday said the Election Commission of India (ECI) has allotted the "two leaves" symbol to the faction of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK), led by him and his deputy O Panneerselvam (EPS-OPS faction).

Edapaddi K Palaniswamy said that we are very happy that the judgement by the Election Commission is in our favour.

V Maitreyan, AIADMK MP, told ANI that "Waiting for the hard copy but got information from EC orally that the two leaves symbol has been allotted to us". During the hearings, the Sasikala - Dhinakaran party challenged the genuineness of affidavits filed by the OPS-EPS alliance, seeking permission to cross-verify the affiants.

He said they the facts had been on their side, as well as the majority of MLAs, MPs and party workers.

There was time given by the Madras High Court to the Election Commission till December 31 to assign the two-leaves symbol to the faction of the party which enjoys majority support.

Prior election commission canceled the R.K Nagar bye-poll elections due to rampant abuse of money power to influence voters and the symbol remained frozen as the Election Commission recognized a split in the party. Palaniswami and rebel leader O Panneerselvam later merged their factions, sidelining TTV Dhinakaran and Sasikala. "All this was taken into consideration", Palaniswami added.

Later, a large group of legislators led by Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami revolted against Sasikala, who is in jail in a graft case, and announced the merger with Panneerselvam faction. Dhinakaran claimed the support of 18 lawmakers.